Cast members of Sorority Sisters

It’s all fun and games until your ratchetness gets you expelled from the sorority you fought so hard to be in. Such is the case for five cast members of VH1’s newly canceled reality-TV show Sorority Sisters.

On the heels of the show’s cancellation because of the combined efforts of members of the Divine Nine and others who were fed up with the negative images of black women on television, Priyanka Banks, Lydia Mitchell, Metoya Monroe, Adrene Ashford and Shanna McCormick were expelled from Delta Sigma Theta Sorority on Jan. 13. The five join April McRae and Joy Hammond, who were suspended from Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.

According to Delta Sigma Theta’s national website, an expulsion means that expelled members cannot wear any paraphernalia or merchandise with references to the sorority. Also, expelled members are prohibited from participating in activities that indicate membership in the sorority. If expelled members are found doing any of the above, they can be subjected to legal action.

Banks and Mitchell were members of the Beta Eta Chapter at Alabama State University. Monroe used to be a member of the Kappa Delta Chapter at the State University of West Georgia, Ashford was with the Marietta-Roswell Alumnae Chapter, and McCormick was with the Nashville Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter.


You have to wonder what the folks at VH1 think about all of this. I’ll take a guess: probably nothing at all.