Janet Jackson Is Made for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as a 2019 Inductee

Singer Janet Jackson attends her “Made For Now” single release party on Friday, Aug. 17, 2018, in New York.
Singer Janet Jackson attends her “Made For Now” single release party on Friday, Aug. 17, 2018, in New York.
Photo: Evan Agostini (Invision/AP)

The time has come: The Janet Damita Jo Jackson will finally join the acclaimed Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.


According to a press release, the “Made For Now” singer will be inducted during the 34th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

That’s right, Jackson joins six other performers in the new 2019 class, from an international voting body of over 1,000 artists. The nominated inductees are judged on the length and depth of their career and body of work, style innovation and superiority and their musical influence on other artists.

Described by the RRHoF as “a pop icon immediately identifiable on a first-name basis,” Jackson has been nominated for the honor three times. In the meantime, she has scooped multiple awards for her work, including six Grammys, a Golden Globe, and a plethora of Billboard Music Awards, American Music Awards and MTV Video Music Awards. Her music catalogue didn’t just include bops for bops’ sake, she explored social issues as well, most notably in Rhythm Nation 1814.

“[Jackson] explored social issues, themes of empowerment and self-confidence, and influenced generations with her stylized music videos with innovative choreography,” read the website’s inductee page for the pop legend.

Jackson’s nomination was announced in October 2018 and Questlove heavily campaigned for her, calling her previous non-induction “highly criminal” in a February Instagram post.


The ceremony will take place on Friday, March 29, 2019 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. Additionally, The RRHoF will be unveiling their 2019 Inductee exhibit at the Museum located in Cleveland, Ohio. As per usual, the ceremony will premiere on HBO in conjunction with a radio broadcast on SiriusXM.

For those who want to see the legendary moment in person, public pre-sale and regular sale dates will be announced in January.


The complete list of performers who will be inducted in the 2019 ceremony are:

  • The Cure
  • Def Leppard
  • Janet Jackson
  • Stevie Nicks
  • Radiohead
  • Roxy Music
  • The Zombies

Fellow nominee, LL Cool J (who’s been nominated four times), has yet to make the cut. And we’re still waiting for Rufus and Chaka Khan. Tell us something (else) good, next year.

In celebration of her upcoming induction, The Rock Hall has created a Janet Jackson Spotify playlist, on pleasure principle.


Congrats, Miss Jackson (I’m nasty)!

Staff Writer, Entertainment at The Root. Sugar, spice & everything rice. Equipped with the uncanny ability to make a Disney reference and a double entendre in the same sentence.


All the props to Janet Jackson because everyone knows she deserves it. But I’m calling shenanigans on Radiohead as being too soon. Once you let in Green Day, though, I guess it’s a slippery slope.