African American Film Critics Association Names Quincy Jones 2019 Special Achievement Honoree

Quincy Jones attends the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 10th annual Governors Awards on November 18, 2018 in Hollywood, California.
Photo: Kevin Winter (Getty Images)

How many ways are there to honor the legendary Quincy Jones? How about “One Hundred Ways”... and more! The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) have found one of those ways, and will be bestowing its 2019 Special Achievement honor onto the music icon.

“Quincy Jones is a cultural icon,” said AAFCA co-founder Shawn Edwards via press release. “For nearly 70 years, he has helped shape pop culture as a music composer and producer as well as a film/TV composer and producer. His creative influence is unparalleled. He has molded the arts, film and music with a force that we may never witness again in our lifetime and given back all along the way.”


BlacKkKlansman producer Jason Blum will also be joining Jones as a Special Achievement honoree. Director Anesh Chaganty will be receiving the AAFCA Breakthrough Film Award for his film Searching, and jazz innovator Buddy Bolden will receive the posthumous honor of the AAFCA Pioneer Award. Daniel Pritzker will be helming 2019 biopic, Bolden! about the New Orleans trumpeter, starring Gary Carr, Erik LaRay Harvey, Yaya DaCosta, Ian McShane and Michael Rooker.

“Jason Blum is a visionary creatively and in business. Through Blumhouse, he has rebirthed the horror genre, favoring both horror and specialty films like BlacKkKlansman that inclusively reflect or make us think about the world today, said AAFCA Co-founder and CEO Gil Robertson. “I am thrilled that AAFCA is honoring Jason, the legendary Quincy Jones, jazz pioneer Bolden and the other great creatives, in front of and behind the camera, that continue to make our industry and our world great.”

The AAFCA Special Achievement Awards will be split between two ceremonies: On February 2, six awards, including Bolden’s, will be presented at the California Yacht Club in Marina Del Rey. Jones and Blum will be honored at the 10th Annual AAFCA Awards on February 6 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood.

Share This Story

About the author

Tonja Renée Stidhum

Staff Writer, Entertainment at The Root. Sugar, spice & everything rice. Equipped with the uncanny ability to make a Disney reference and a double entendre in the same sentence.