Beyoncé in 2015
Mike Coppola/Getty Images

They're here!

The nominations for the 48th NAACP Image Awards were announced Tuesday, and we could not be more thrilled!

Advertisement

The NAACP Image Awards celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

“The Image Awards is the premier showcase for art and advocacy reflecting the depth and diversity of the African-American experience," said Cornell William Brooks, president and CEO of the NAACP. "It is an American prism through which we see a breadth of culture and color reflected in film, television, music and literature in ways that reveal our shared humanity. At a moment when America is so divided, the Image Awards represents an hour that brings us together.”

This incredible award show will be held and broadcast live on TV One on Saturday, Feb. 11, at 9 p.m. Eastern/8 p.m. Central. It is a two-hour special that will be hosted by Anthony Anderson. The 90-minute red-carpet preshow will begin at 7:30 p.m. Eastern/6:30 p.m. Central.

Advertisement

As far as nominations go, ABC and HBO lead in the television categories, with 23 and 14 nominations, respectively. Of course, Queen Beyoncé leads the pack of artists with seven nominations, and we're thrilled to share that her baby sister, Solange, follows that lead with five nominations of her own. Other nominees include favorites such as Chance the Rapper, Kendrick Lamar, Denzel Washington and Tracee Ellis Ross.

All of these amazing nominations make it almost unbearable to wait for the show! Make sure you tune in because it will definitely be one for the books.

Click here for the full list of nominees.

For more of black Twitter, check out The Chatterati on The Root and follow The Chatterati on Twitter.

Veronica Graves is a digital-news associate at The Root. Follow her on Twitter.